I still don’t see how Lamont can win

The most surprising part of today’s Q Poll is that Lieberman is only up 49-39, though that’s enough. I guess a few diehards must still say they’ll vote for Alan Schlesinger, but with every passing week, his failure to gain traction makes it less likely he’ll get more than a smattering of votes. Republicans would be crazy to risk a Lamont win when they know Lieberman is at least sometimes on their side of key votes.

The simple math dictates that Lieberman will win. He’ll clearly get at least half the independents and most of the Republicans. He’ll probably get at least 25-35 percent of Democrats, too, and possibly more. After all, many Democrats are conservative and nearly all of them have voted for Lieberman before. That’s half the electorate right there — enough to win.

How can Lamont make inroads? Well, he can’t win the GOP votes at all. And he probably can’t cut into Lieberman’s thinning Democratic ranks much more. So he has to find a way to appeal to the independents who are naturally sympathetic to an independent candidate who’s known for his bipartisanship. And I don’t see how Lamont can do it, despite funny commercials ripping into Joe.

I hate President Bush as much as anyone. He’s been awful in every possible way. I wish Lieberman shared my view, of course, but I still haven’t seen a good reason to throw him out of office instead of sending him back to help shape a Democratic future that has to include mainstream America, not just the starry-eyed idealists of the left.

3 Comments

Filed under News, Politics

3 responses to “I still don’t see how Lamont can win

  1. Okay, I’ll take another swipe at you being it’s been so long and all.

    1. I guess you didn’t catch the Zogby poll that just came out this morning showing the race as tied. What about just about every other poll that shows this race as closer as you expect.

    2. With Rell’s high popularity and the Republican party in the toilet, can you tell why a large number of Republicans would come out to vote for Joe? Also, you REALLY think Alan can’t get more than 4 percent from Republicans. I mean really, how many hard-core Republicans are going to vote for Lieberman with his liberal voting record.

    3. Where’s Joe’s ground game? Where’s Joe’s GOTV machine?

    4. For as long as I’ve been reading this blog, you’ve not only been harsh to Lamont, you’ve never respected him as a candidate. You pushed the Lieberman button in the primary and you’ll do the same at the general. You cheered for Joe when he was down by 13 points with less than a month to go till the primary but you quickly call Lamont out with more than a month to go till election day AND after seeing one poll ALTHOUGH another poll came out with the reace dead even (which is very realistic).

    If it was anyother Dem besides Lieberman, you would be up in arms knowing that a Dem allowed Scotter Libby’s lawyer hold a fundraiser for him, supports this god-awful war, undermines the Democratic party, refuses to call for a full release of the intelligence report, etc.

    I’d respect you better if you just came out and said you still supported Joe…

  2. So much depends on how the polls look-our fearless Dems don’t want to bet on a loser- If it looks like Lamont can win we will get more support from the party leaders-sad but a fact- I keep switching back and forth between the inequities of the Lamont battle within the Democratic party- Pryor -a vice chair of the DSCC-mission to elect as many democrats as possible to the Senate-openly supporting Lieberman (how could we let that happen?) Being so angry that I want to withdraw support from the leaders and yet knowing that the big picture is overwhelmingly vital to our future-
    Frustrating-As a Massachusetts resident who feels that our big race for governor is pretty solid for (D) Patrick- will be coming to CT to work on a campaign- there are many like me-wondering where we are most needed- Or would it be better to go to RI for the Senate race there? Right now am thinking Diane Farrell would be the best fit- Would love to hear opinions on this?

  3. ctblogger,
    Fair enough: I support Joe.
    I’ve now met Ned Lamont three times, and spent a fair amount of time talking him on two of those occasions. I just plain don’t like him. He strikes me as arrogant and out of touch. I recognize, however, that many people whom I respect find him charming. Some of them have known Ned for many years, so I I’ll concede ahead of time that my impressions could be off-base. Maybe I just caught him at bad times, or maybe he just doesn’t like me, which is probably reasonable.
    I hadn’t seen the Zogby results until after I posted, but I tend to trust the Q polls. But Zogby could be right. I still think Joe wins when you do the math.
    Where is Joe’s ground game? Hell if I know. The man who beat Weicker must have been a better campaigner than the Joe who’s out there now.
    On the other hand, I don’t see or hear much about Lamont or his team either. And I know the Democratic Party in these parts is still awfully lukewarm about Ned, with notable exceptions.
    And, yeah, I have no use for each and every one of those things you mentioned about what Joe’s doing and has done. He makes me sick with the way he cozies up to this renegade White House and its criminal ways. He really does.
    But I still support Joe because the man is living, breathing proof that you don’t have to be on one extreme or the other to survive in politics today. I don’t want to see our nation split asunder by vicious partisanship. I want guys in the middle to play a bigger role — even when I don’t agree with many of their stands.
    We’re going to be in deep trouble in this country if politicians like Lieberman and Chafee and others who try to reach out to the other side get blown away for failing to be partisan enough. It’s hard to explain – and I guess I should try more later — but I just have this sense that we can’t back away from these moderates without risking our nation’s future.
    I’ll have to work on that, though, so that it’s coherent instead of just rambling.
    I’ll add this, too: Ned Lamont would be just fine as a senator. I’ve known quite a few senators and most of them are pricks. So even if I’m right that he’s snooty, he’ll fit right in, and at least he’ll vote the way I would on most things, which is more than I can say about Lieberman.

Leave a Reply

